Some people think art classes like painting and drawing are as important as other subjects, and they should be compulsory in high school education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People find themselves at loggerheads regarding the issue of whether art courses should be incorporated into high-school curriculums. From where I stand, art syllabi should be mandatory for the following reasons. To begin with, aesthetic education could boost students ' creativity and imagination ability, which is necessary for all sorts of fields and jobs. In the courses of art, juveniles could gain the freedom to express their unique ideas and ground-breaking thoughts in their artwork. By contrast, when students in high school merely devote themselves to those conventional core courses, they may miss out on the opportunity to enhance their innovativeness, because those subjects such as maths only have standardized answers that students could not accomplish creatively. Although most students may not aim at becoming artists or painters, students with aesthetic backgrounds would be more popular in the general workforce market, since they could design and conceive up-to-date and avant-garde products even in the industrial section. Therefore, students would have promising careers thanks to the amelioration of creativity via art education. Admittedly, some people claim that art lessons should be elective and optional since exam-oriented curriculum has been dominant with the aim of further tertiary education. Students who focus on traditional disciplines, such as literature and natural science, are more likely to have better academic performance. However, I beg to differ, because art courses could be once or twice a week that will not distract students from their mainline courses. In addition, some knowledge learned in art classes contributes to the core subjects of examination. For example, the basic skills of sketching 3-D models in painting classes could cater to students ' space imagination which is necessary for the geometry section in maths. To recapitulate, it is my firm conviction that art education should be imperative in high-school syllabi, for it is the cornerstone of personal vocational prospects and academic performance. Therefore, the students should be given the green light to grasp aesthetic courses.