Nowadays there is a trend that media focuses on problems and emergencies rather than positive developments. Some people think this is harmful to individuals and societies. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience You should write at least 250 words.

It is commonly argued that media these days often concentrates on problems and emergencies rather than positive changes. Personally, I can neither wholly agree nor disagree with this statement for a variety of reasons. I partly agree that this trend can make some negative effects on individuals. One of the main reasons can be that negative news and conflicts can lead to a sense of despair. This means that people can be led by the media and unable to see a path forward or positive developments coming. Another reason can be that this phenomenon also affects people ’s opinions of the media. In fact, it makes individuals view the media negatively or with suspicion and distrust. It also can make people misunderstand the information and leads them to make wrong decisions. For example, there is much fake news about crimes, diseases, and epidemics every day. On the other hand, I disagree with the viewpoint that this phenomenon is not actually harmful to people and societies. To begin with, people ’s awareness will be improved if the media often focuses on problems and emergencies. This is because they can know and understand what is happening around them and these news are more like cautions for people. For example, when Covid 19 first appeared, many articles and news about this epidemic were everywhere therefore the citizens could be more careful. Furthermore, this trend has the potential to help build positive connections and relationships. That means when people see and hear about shared challenges and issues, it can lead to a sense of understanding and support. For instance, individuals often share their perspectives about problems and emergencies they see through the media and help seek solutions. In conclusion, although the advantages and disadvantages of this trend, I’m convinced that this statement is not completely harmful but it still has drawbacks.