Nowadays, more and more older people who need employment compete with the younger people for the same jobs. What problems this causes? What are solutions?

In recent years, the world is suffering from double disasters from the Covid 19 pandemic as well as the Russia-Ukraine war. In some countries, consequently, the young and elderly become harshly compete to seek appropriate jobs. This essay attempts to shed light on the driving factors behind its problem before outlining several viable solutions that should be adopted to tackle it. There are tons of obvious reasons why a number of people have fewer job opportunities in the modern era. Firstly, this is because the employment percentage is gradually decreasing due to economic and political instability in the world. In 2023, for example, many large companies such as Apple, Microsoft, and Google had cut tens of thousands of employees regardless of positions and levels to restructure the company. Therefore, career competition is clearly increased over this period. Additionally, the war between Russia and Ukraine partly increased economic disturbances for the Eurasian region, leading to a dramatic drop in the supply of essential items, resulting in no purchasing orders for developing countries such as Vietnam, India, and Indonesia. As a result, companies in this region are forced to cut staff which leads to a surplus of candidates of all ages. To combat the above concerns, the following steps should be taken. First, both the old and the young need to be equipped with the necessary knowledge before looking for a job. Working experience is considered an advantage for the elderly, while communication skills in international languages such as English, Japanese, and Chinese are considered an advantage for young people. Furthermore, competition is an inevitable part of life. Therefore, job offers will be for those who seize the opportunity. For instance, having both experience and the ability to communicate in English, the elderly will surely score points with employers. On the contrary, having practised while studying in a university with good English, young people will definitely be selected. In conclusion, war, and pandemics are intentionally the underlying motives behind adverse tendencies as mentioned. And it is crucial to improve personal skills to make a great opportunity by oneself.