In some countries, secondary schools aim to provide a general educational across a range of subjects. In others, children focus on a narrowly range of subjects to related to a particular career. Which do you think is appropriate in today’s world?

Some argue that secondary schools should teach children a wide range of subjects, while the other group strongly believe that it would be more effective for children to just learn some specific courses related to their pursuing careers. From my perspective, I support the first idea because students need to develop every basic skill at a young age to be adaptive when they hit adulthood, and it's not guaranteed that the particular areas they choose to learn will become their main jobs down the road. On the one hand, all-round development is very crucial for teenagers since adult life isn't just all about one specific domain that they cater to. In the working environment, knowledge from some general subjects in schools is called up really regularly to handle tasks, and people lacking it can hardly ever climb to a higher position. For example, many students tend to neglect interpersonal skills to pay more time on Maths or Physics, which leads them to difficulty in the interviews when they apply to some companies later. On the other hand, it's almost impossible for students to soonly determine which type of job can be suitable for them in the future and then focus on this career path. They choose their favourite subjects mostly based on their momentary interest, which most of the time couldn't last long until they turn older. For instance, 15-year-olds may find themselves talented in playing musical instruments, so they take part in some relevant classes, yet more than half of them will give up only after several months and realize that it's just a whim. In conclusion, there's an argument about what should we teach our young in secondary schools, overall knowledge or some narrower areas. I'm inclined to the first one due to the fact that general subjects can help them go through many challenges in the working life, as well as we couldn't make sure that we will commit long-term to the chosen career path in the early stage of our life.