In the modern world it is possible to shop, work and communicate with people via Internet and live without any face-to-face contact with others. Is it a positive or negative development in your opinion

In light of the internet’s advent, the world finds itself paradoxically dawning closer together yet further simultaneously. This is because, the prevalence of internet-based communication, remote employment, and digital business has fully replaced the traditional ways. From my perspective, this development presents both positive and negative equally. On the one hand, the development of information technology has greatly benefited human society in terms of convenience and comfort. It is undoubtedly that the invention of instant messaging or social media such as Facebook, email, and Skype has connected the world closer together. For example, individuals working or studying abroad can easily keep in touch with their loved ones, regardless of geographical barriers, through online chat or virtual calls. Furthermore, the improvement of technology allows customers to seek out items or services of the finest quality without engaging in lengthy commutes,especially during extreme weather like torrential rain or the scorching heat. As a result, both businesses and shoppers can benefit from cost-saving by the discount of the product since expenses related to the physical storefronts are curbed. On the other hand, certain detriments can be associated with excessive Internet use. The over-reliance on virtual communication is the primary cause of the decline of social interaction and interpersonal skills. It is not uncommon for heavy internet users to feel awkward when striking up a conversation with strangers. Thus, these people might eventually become socially alienated and suffer from a great sense of solitude. Another harmful aspect is the dismissed physical and mental condition. If humans were overindulgent in the online world, it undoubtedly triggers a sedentary lifestyle, which consequently leads to some health-related problems such as obesity or sleep deprivation. In conclusion, both positive implications on certain aspects of life and negative impacts on lifestyle and health can be seen. To maintain a healthy balance, it is crucial to harness the benefits of the Internet while actively preserving meaningful face-to-face interactions