It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? what sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

Many advocate the importance of being able to distinguish between wrong and right doing during early childhood. In addition, they consider gruelling the proper action to teach that difference. However, in my perspective, the crackdown is not an acceptable way of teaching and should be banned. To begin with, the idea of sanctioning penalties for children in order to guide them to understand an issue has many drawbacks. Firstly, punishment may lead to a negative response from a person instead of what was expected. For example, when a father intends to prohibit his child from playing with the television’s control by beating his kid, the child would express his/her anger by hurting the television. Consequently, not only nothing would be learned from the kid’s side but also this sort of retribution can create an undesirable response. Secondly, in an environment where a kid used to be confronted with penalties for making mistakes, there would be changes in the way someone’s personality shapes and creates an aggressive individual who only uses harsh measures to achieve goals. On the other hand, many proclaim by using punishment in order to teach kids not to do wrong deeds, children will learn what is correct and what is not in the best way possible. In many countries, teachers and parents apply unharmful punishments to help youngsters to shape the right conception of the virtual world. For example, by imposing some simple restrictions on children’s free time for playing outside the house, parents believe they can obtain a reliable retribution and reward system. In conclusion, teaching youngsters to be able to recognize the differences between right and wrong doings is highly important. However, due to a large number of harmful consequences like personal injuries, I am completely against the idea of utilizing any sort of retribution to make good behaviour.