Children spend more time on computer games and less on sports . Why ? What do you think it is positive or negetive development

Technology has become an integral part of our society and it keeps evolving. Thus, children are drawn to spend more time on their tablets and androids rather than engaging in sporting activities. This essay will explore the reason why and the various effect as it relates to development. There are various reasons why teenagers spend time on computer games. First, is the ease of accessing various fun activities on the computer. An example is a PlayStation you can play all types of activities on it, once it is acquired it can be used for a very long time. Secondly, It is played from the comfort of their homes and it can be played none stop. Finally, is the ability to engage with anyone in any city or any part of the world. Although an Internet connection is required, there is no stopping them. The positive development is the ability to increase the Intelligent Quotient for children, it is a critical learning skill where they also learn to make decisions on the spot on how to navigate. for instance, while playing the games they will have to be able to decide the best way to navigate to win against their opponent. Notwithstanding the above, the negative side is spending way too long playing games. Thus, it may affect their eyesight and weight. The "Lagos City" report shows that obesity is increasing among kids and the major reason is that kids are no longer engaging in sports. Therefore, they should spend an hour or two socializing physically or engaging in a proper sport activity. In conclusion, in as much as technology is the future, in my opinion, there should be a balance for teenagers to interact and exert energy and create a schedule for computers so that there will be no long-term mental and social breakdown in the health of the children.