Despite the increased access to education, a significant number of people cannot read or write. What are the disadvantages without these skills? And What actions should governments take?

The main focus of education is catering to the exam-oriented education system, resulting in numerous individuals lacking reading and written abilities. It embarked the public awareness and the relevant administrative department should shoulder the responsibility of addressing these problems. There are several drawbacks to the incapability of reading or writing. On one hand, they may have a lower competitive edge in the workplace which is a place that requires high proficiency in reading the important notes delivered by leaders and also writing sophisticated reports. Without these skills, they find difficulty in fulfilling their job duties and even surviving in the workplace. On the other hand, people who cannot read may have a series of obstacles in daily life such as their communication strength will be affected adversely. Reading is a kind of input way to build communication ability, people will not be able to speak logically and fluently without accumulative reading. Thus, it may jeopardize their interpersonal skills. Moreover, inadequate reading and writing skills may hinder the development of literature. A growing number of people who are not capable of reading or writing may have less exposure to the literature. Therefore, it will be harmful to the development of literatus. To alleviate the relative crisis, the authority should take the initiative to employ some regulations. First of all, the government should implement a diversified educational scheme to emphasize much more practical skills like lexical courses and grammar workshops rather than exclusive exam preparation lessons. The uprooted problem caused by this weakness is that people do not have a solid foundation in the language, so they need to be equipped. Additionally, the lifelong education motion should be paid attention to for the sake of the future. Reading-related activities or language-immersive extra curriculum should be promoted to boost public interest in reading or writing. The opportunities provided also can offer some awards as an encouragement. The education is proposed to boost public intelligence and the strengths of reading and writing are one of the criteria. The government should make more efforts to eliminate the disability of reading or writing so that achieve the aim of education.