The UN has recently celebrated their 70th anniversary, What benefits has it bought during this time? Do you think the UN will last next 70 years?

Established after the World War 2, the United Nations, or the UN, has existed for 70 years. Although it is not the first international organization, it has contributed remarkably to the peace and development of the world. In spite of this contribution, I believe that the UN can soon disappear. During its last 70 years, the United Nations is the organization which has positive contributions to the international community. First, as said, the organization was established after the World War 2. The purpose of this establishment was to remain the peace in the whole world when during a half of the 20th century, humanity had to undergo two world wars. In spite of the Cold War and regional wars such as the 1999 Balkan war, the 2003 invasion of Iraq and the ongoing Ukraine-Russia conflict, in general, the international community has not seen any potential sign of a new world war. Meanwhile, the predecessor of the United Nations, the League of Nations, could not deal with the rise of fascism, the main cause of World War 2. Because of this, over about a quarter of century after its establishment, the league was dissolved in 1946. These points prove that the United Nations has successfully remain the international peace. However, the role of the organization does not stop that since it also encourages the development of other aspects in humanity such as economy, education, culture and human rights. For example, the Food and Agriculture Organization, or FAO, in resposible for solving the food security problems and guaranteeing people in the world do not have to face detrimental effects of famine. Furthermore, the United Nations Education, Scientific and Cultural Organization, or UNESCO, advocates for the cultural diversity and the ubiquity of education, especially the elementary education. Another significant constituent organization of the UN is the Office of High Commissioner for Human Rights, or OHCHR, concerns about the human rights activities around the world and the oppressive ways governments and authorities use to restrict these rights. Although the United Nations has such contribution to the international community, I personally think that this organization will go to the collapse soon. The main reason for it is the conflict between great powers. Even though the United Nations has existed for 70 years, it can not cover the fundamental disagreement between great countries. For example, in the United Nations Security Council, or UNSC, there are five pernament member countries, the United States, the United Kingdom, France, Russia and China. They were the winner in the World War 2 and they hoped the peace of the world can be retained in the following time. Nevertheless, the conflict between has never been cooled down, from the Cold War to the present. In general, all five countries have the right of veto the suggestion of each other and unfortunately, this right is usually used for their own benefits rather than the general problems. For instance, when the United States suggested their would be punishments to the government of Nicolas Maduro in Venezuela because of his activities against the protesters, while France and the United Kingdom agreed, Russia and China vetoed. If the UNSC cannot solve the conflict between great powers, one day, it can be dissolved and the whole United Nations can go to an end es remaining the peace of the world is its principal function. In conclusion, although the contributions of the United Nations are remarkable and worth mentioning, the organization will collapse soon due to the conflict between great powers.