In many countries, childhood obesity is a growing problem. What are the reasons for this and what can individuals and governments do to tackle the problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays figures of childhood obesity are rising in many countries which will lead to serious health problems in the future population of these countries. This change can be explain by changes in our lifestyle and diet and it is important that we as individuals and the government try and address the problem. The diet of young people has changed dramatically over the years. These days many foods that are popular with children are unhealthy and full with fat and sugar. This problem is made worse by the fact that children have a much more sedentery lifestyle than in the past and are not therefore burning the energy that they take in their diet. These are the main causes of obesity in children. There are some things that we as individuals can be done to combat this problem. We need to teach young people how to lead a healthy life and support them to be more active. The main people who are responsible for this are parents who should also make sure that they feed their children healthily diets. Governments can also help to tackle this question. They should promote a healthy lifestyle for their citizens and also make sure that children have access to sport facilities. Furthermore, they could take measures to improve our diet. They could introduce laws about food ingredients and make unhealthy foods more expensive for us to buy. In conclusion, it is clear that growing obese levels amongst our youth is a pressing issue which we need to address or face huge health problems in the future. However, as we understand the reasons, there are steps we can take to promote a healthy lifestyle for children.