Some people believe that a good way to reduce crime is to have longer sentences, while others think that there are alternatives to this problem. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the modern century/ present era. there is not even a single country left. which is not suffering from the crime problem. It is not only a serious but a growing problem across the world. This eventually increases the fear in innocent people and force the authority to give stronger punishment to those who committed a crime some people believe that giving longer prison sentence to prisoners is the right solution while other opines that there are many other alternative ways that will be more effective. I would discuss both opinions along with my view in the below paragraphs. There are many advantages of sentencing offenders to longer prison periods. Firstly a prisoner can rehabilitate himself through the services and opportunities which he gets inside the prison. For example. re-educate facility. Prisoners can get free education inside the jail which change their future life.Another benefit is more extended punishment generates fear in a criminal’s mind. I mean to say if people know the results of their activities, then they think twice before committing any crime. However, some people and I also argue that longer prison is not a practical solution because prisoner will live with other criminals which demotivate them and their character will not improve. One solution is that the government can provide separate schooling means practical skills to those prisoners who want to improve their lives. In addition to this government should organize seminars in which their consolers motivate the prisoner and fill positivity in their minds which keeps them away from negative thoughts. Last but not least, the government can also solve this problem by providing them with excellent opportunities for employment. In conclusion, even though longer prison generates fear in the criminal’s mind which discourages them from committing the crime but proper education. job opportunities and knowledge of practical skills is the better solution instead of longer prison.