Some people say that schools should concentrate on teaching students academic subjects that will be useful for their future careers. Other say that subjects such as music and sports are also necessary. Discuss both view and give your own opinion.

In today’s fast-paced society, various job vacancies require professional abilities, which makes parents more conscious of the importance of studying at school. While some people believe that students have to pay attention to academic disciplines, others have an adverse opinion. From my perspective, it is essential for learners to strike a balance between all subjects. To begin with, it is understandable that if the curriculum emphasizes only scholastic fields, students may have more time to be provided foundational knowledge. For example, in a current educational program, English, which is considered one of the key subjects, accounts for merely four lessons per week. As a result, most graduates find it challenging to communicate with native speakers and therefore have many difficulties in seeking high-income jobs. What is more, with the emphasis on disciplines such as Math and Science, students’ problem-solving abilities will be enhanced. Thus, it can be seen that the focus on primary subjects may bring many benefits. On the other hand, it is also believed that other subjects including music and P.E. also play a vital part in overall well-being development. It benefits the schoolers in terms of not only relaxation but also life skills. For instance, team sports in physical education class contribute to participants’ lessons about teamwork and time management techniques, which are necessary for them when they grow up. Another highlight is that many talents may be discovered in specialized subjects such as music and art. In fact, not every learner has immense strength in the study field. If individuals are talented in music or art, there will be a lot of opportunities for them to have a bright future. In conclusion, in my opinion, it is unnecessary to eliminate specialized disciplines because of the advantages they bring to the students namely physical development and soft skills. Therefore, learners should give it a go in different kinds of subjects to discover themselves as well as take advantage of their upsides.