In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Advertising today is a highly influential power, which allows many producers to effectively promote their goods. The current trend for numerous companies is to claim that their products are innovative and state-of-the-art, which obviously is supported by a number of reasons. Personally, I think that such a tendency has more drawbacks than benefits. Firstly, the human phycological factor constitutes grounds for manufacturers to be convinced that the word "new" enhances the purchasing power of their goods. In general, people in the modern world become jaded extremely fast and thus always seek something different in their lives. This, in turn, causes them to fall prey to virtually every advertisement promoting a new flavour, shape or colour. However, in reality, not only do they get the idea of slight alterations to the product, but they also believe indeed that the product is revolutionary, totally different and second to none, which is not always true. Consecutively, such a trend may be deemed detrimental to consumers. Although superficially there is nothing bad in persons' endeavours to satisfy their needs, a deep drill-down allows us to see, that individuals turn out to be addicted to buying "new" goods, thus constantly boosting companies' profits. Once or twice would do no harm, but products with new specifics are being released every single day, and the shelves in shops are again totally empty, even though the goods have not changed a lot and most of the time people do not even need this stuff. By and large, this creates a vicious cycle, which drives the consumer society and which is almost impossible to break. In conclusion, manufacturers all over the world strive to influence people's psychics and urge them to buy more and more products, which has a positive impact on revenues. Unfortunately, most of them are solely interested in money and do not bother to care a lot about their consumer's well-being.