Most people believe that social media such as Facebook and Instagram negatively impact society and individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

In the era of digitisation, it is quite difficult to stay away from social media for a longer period of time. Because of that, many people feel that the apps like Facebook and Instagram can impact society and individuals in a negative way. I completely agree with the aforementioned statement, and this essay will explain why and what could be the reasons. To begin with, the excessive usage of social media apps will not only impact the individual's well-being but could also hamper their social abilities. In other words, many folks tend to scroll their social accounts feed aimlessly, and repetitively doing so could lead them to physical strains like spondylosis. Furthermore, it could cause social depression due to prolonged anxiety driven by the continuous comparison on social forums. For instance, a recent medical report published by The Times, a well-known media outlet stated that 90% of individuals are suffering from at least one physical or psychological issue, just because they spend limitless time on social apps. Moreover, it could affect society as a whole as well because of fake news or unmoderated content. It is been found that many influencers create fake hype to generate mass views on their profiles. Nowadays, people's greed to make quick money is increasing these activities. PR Sundar, for example, a well-known stock trader on Instagram recently sold many online courses by promising people to make multi-fold returns on their investments, and that completely backfired. Hence, it is advisable to use these social networking platforms moderately and cautiously. To summarise, there is enough evidence to suggest that the usage of apps like Facebook and Instagram has many negative impacts on individuals as well as on society. Therefore, people should be cautiously optimum while using these kinds of apps.