‘It is important for foreigners to know something about the history and culture of the country they live in.’ Discuss.

A nation's history and culture have a significant impact on people's present lives as some customs from the past are still followed and respected. Therefore, it is important for foreigners to be well aware of the norms and history to gel in with the locals and to avoid hurting their sentiments. In this essay, I will outline why it is imperative for expatriates to learn about common cultural practices and the main historical events. To begin, awareness of the historical episodes and participating in cultural events make it a lot easier for foreigners to blend in with the locals. It makes the citizens welcome them with open arms, as it is a subtle way of showing interest and respect towards the country, which is highly valued by the locals. After being an international student, I realised that engaging with natives about their country's iconic ancient events and tradition is a great way to gain their trust and hospitality. Thus, it is necessary to build good social connections on foreign soil. Another compelling reason is to avoid conflicts. As expatriates are unaware of the gestures and customs that are unacceptable in society. They may unintentionally offend nationals with their words, or actions. On the basis of ignorance, they may even suffer from legal implications. In Germany, for instance, it is illegal to leave your pet's litter in a park or on a pavement. If caught doing so, you may be fined. Thus, getting familiar with the customs can be helpful in abiding by social norms. To conclude the aforementioned discussion, being aware of a country's past happenings and present way of living is beneficial because it eases expatriate's stay by allowing them to blend in with locals smoothly and avoid getting in trouble.