Some people think that it should be compulsory for people to retake their driving test every five years. What are the advantages and disadvantages of doing this?

In some countries, people need to redo their driving test every five years. Some people argue that retaking this test is necessary as people will continue to learn and remember about traffic rules and regulations. However, others stated that retaking the driving tests every certain time might be disadvantagous disadvantages as people need to take permission from work or school on the task that they have already mastered. There are a few benefits of retaking the driving test. First of all, it could be a method for drivers to learn and remember about traffic rules and regulations. By retaking this test, we hope that all people will always obey traffic rules, hence reducing the number of traffic accidents. Furthermore, ageing or diseases can cause a reduction in physical and mental functions. Therefore, it is advisable for people to renew their driving permits and retake driving tests every five years as it could prevent unfit drivers to have a driving licence. On the other hand, the opponents state that redoing this test every five years or so could be a total waste of time. Many studies have suggested that, humans will never lose the physical ability that they have already mastered. These may include driving a car or playing a certain type of sport. For example, a patient suffering from amnesia will not lose his/her ability to drive if they have acquired this skill before. Furthermore, in Indonesia for example, taking a driving test may take a whole day. Employees need to take a leave or get permission from their office or school for attending this test. Hence, it has economic and educational implications. In conclusion, Although it may be true that retaking the driving test may cause economic loss, I believe that the benefits of redoing the test outweigh the drawbacks as people will be remained about traffic rules and thus, may help reduce road traffic accidents