Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

As an introduction, art is unique to every country, and holds an immense value in the culture of particular parts of the world. A fair amount of people nowadays believe that the government should not spend an excessive amount of money on art, instead of spending on other necessities of the country. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the idea considering the current economical crisis. To begin with, there are many reasons, why the financial priority should be the basic needs. Firstly, thousands of people are living in poverty without having the opportunity in basic needs of life such as food, health, and education. For example, currently,the government has cut down the annual allocation for hospitals and schools, which of course, is a harmful decision in the face of civilians. Furthermore, the money can be spent on programmes which are important in the development. For instance, the exportation of products like tea, rubber and coconut can be promoted by funding adequately in order to enhance income. In contrast, art is invaluable, thus it needs an adequate amount of money, not in excess. Art varies with the culture and civilisation of societies, and it has its own value. It is the best source of generating revenue income for the government. Museums, art galleries, and musical concerts are the place, where a handsome revenue is taken. Therefore, the government is responsible for protecting such masterpieces and should do it carefully by not compromising other necessities. In conclusion, in my opinion, art should be protected, but basic needs must be the priority when allocating funds.