Some feel governments should invest in preserving minority languages, while others feel this is not a good use of resources. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There has been a hot/heated debate among people whether minority languages should be preserved. Some argue that preserving these languages has cultural benefits, while others contend that it is a waste of public funds. Both views will be discussed in this essay followed by my opinion. Foremost among the advantages of preserving minority languages is that it helps protect the local culture. In many,countries there are several villages where their inhabitants have been speaking the same language for thousands of years. Those languages are unique and an invaluable heritage from previous generations. As a result, conserving these languages help countries to maintain their national identity and diversity. In addition, this approach keeps the community more connected because they have lost their identity and sense of belonging since the advent of globalization. On the other hand, this seems to be a negative trend because governmental funds could be invested in otherwise necessary expenses such as healthcare. Moreover, many isolated areas where these languages are spoken suffer from poor living standards. As a result, high disease rates due to inadequate health services endanger the existence of these languages and cultures.If government authorities allocate more funds to enhance the health care system, the general well-being of society will definitely improve. In my,opinion both views have some merits but I lean more towards the latter one, since I believe that governments should prioritize the funds on the most important matters for example society’s well-being. I think that governments should not spend a lot of money on preserving these languages, but rather in improving the quality of life of their speakers. In conclusion, the preservation of minority languages is a controversial issue which has both supporters and opponents. While this might not be good for people’s general health,it has some positive effects on conserving cultural diversity. I believe The argument that governments should allocate funds to pressing issues has more weight than keeping the minority languages.