Examine the arguments in favour and against animal experiments, and come to a conclusion on this issue.

Nowadays, there is a increased awareness on animal rights. But can sacrifising of animals mean saving life? In this essay I will look into the advantages and disadvantages of animal experiments, and why, in my opinion, the advantages overseeds surpass the negative sides. The advances in the medical field give us the possibility of treating illnesses that were considered a death sentence in the past. Examples are drugs curing cancer and complex genetic and neurological diseases. Drug experiments and production is subject to a strict regiment, including experiments in labs on cells and animals. Hence, these trials on animals give a tremendous health gain for human. Furthermore, in farming, new technology has made production of meat and dairy products more efficient. In turn, a larger amount of a local population will benefit from such measures, coping with poverty, high prices and hunger in some places. For the better good, animals have to be sacrifised in the development of more efficient ecosystem. In the meanwhile, animals are living creatures with feelings. Experiments on animals in the past, have showed the crulty of humans, when there was no limit the types of pain-causing experiments. Animals should be treated the same way a human would be treated. In conclusion, experiments on animals allow human development, including reducing mortality and morbidity, as well as solving hunger and shortage of food. In contrast, the experiments harm animals in causing pain and distress, and may ultimatly extinct species. All in all, despite the potential abuse of animals, the beneficial effects of animal experiments are far greater in my opinion.