The world today is a safer place than it was a hundred years ago, and governments should stop spending large amounts of money on their armed forces. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Luckily society has learned from previous mistakes made and most governments aim to avoid going into war. It doesn’t make sense spending a considerable part of a country’s gross domestic product on weapons. Therefore, I support the thesis that we should spend less money on defence. There are some reasons why it is crucial for governments to put a significant amount of money aside for protecting their population. If another country, for example, attacks its neighbour state they should be prepared and able to fight back. It might even stop your enemies to approach an attack if they know that you would be prepared to oppose their potential war initiation. Although we unfortunately require some means of protection, I don’t think that governments should spend a lot of money on the army and navy. On the other side, nowadays we have the resources to educate ourselves and understand that a war only brings out losers. Therefore, from an early age, we should teach kids about the consequences on society and the economy previous wars have brought to us. This can be done by talking to people of the older generation who have had experienced tragedies or by educating students about the possible affects and aftermaths of using violence. In my opinion, money spent on the defence force should be kept to a minimum and instead put towards education. In conclusion, a huge part of a country’s expenses still goes towards armed forces. This could be avoided and rather spent on teaching kids about a peaceful approach. I think that governments should be able to protect their countries with people’s skills rather than a big defence budget.