The use of social media, e.g. Facebook and Twitter, is replacing face-to-face contact for many people in everyday life. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, face-to-face interaction is being replaced by the usage of social media such as Facebook and Twitter. We cannot deny that this tendency is increasing day after day, showing up many benefits as well as some drawbacks. In my opinion, I consider that even if there are some negative impacts on people, this trend is highly beneficial for many reasons, which I will explain in the following paragraphs. To begin with, social media came into our world to facilitate our way of communication turning into a more practical and fast manner. For instance, since the pandemic started around 2020, a high percentage of the global population had to stay at home, which affected their daily routine. In this case, social media and different platforms like Zoom and Meet increased dramatically among the users, being able to use it to work and study. It is known that social media was created before the pandemic event existed, however, its appearance brought with it a lot of change that remains even today. In other words, the usage of social media gets us closer, without borders and distance among people from different countries. There is no limit to these kinds of tools, which make people feel closer and connected in immediacy. On the other hand, using too much social media like Facebook or Twitter may cause negative effects on people. For example, it has been claimed that teenagers are more isolated in the present because of the excessive usage of social media, creating more cases of violence such as bullying due to the anonymity that we can get Online. Considering this, it is clear that there are some drawbacks related to social media usage. However, I do not think that we should blame social media, as human being are the ones who tend to make bad use of it. These kinds of problems need to be covered by education at schools and be supported by families. In conclusion, even if it is true that face-to-face contact is less common in some sectors of society such as work and study environments, it will never disappear as we need to be and feel physically close to people. Naturally, as with everything in life, there are positive and negative effects related to the increase of this “new” way of communication, from being totally accessible from different points around the globe to being used to hurt people ’s feelings. Nonetheless, in my opinion, the benefits that this way of interaction is bringing to our societies are enormous, which means that outweighs by far its drawbacks.