The government should control the Internet to reduce cyber crime and ensure safety of users. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The prevalence of technological tools in modern society has led to an increase in cyber crimes. Some people believe that intervention from the government is necessary to protect the safety of the public. I partially agree with this, for the growing threat of the invasion of their privacy although the excessive control from the authority can limit access to essential information. On one hand, there is an increasing need for supervision of the Internet from the government since the advance of technology has made it easier to steal personal information. In other words, potential criminals are more likely to crack down the complicated codes to access private data such as the number of credit cards and addresses using sophisticated intelligence and skills. The number of reports including fraud and stalking rises dramatically, some of which even lead to the loss of life as people get involved in serious accidents. Therefore, screening out suspicious acts online to protect their private information should be conducted on a frequent basis to promote their sense of security. On the other hand, the control of the Internet from the government is not necessary as it can regulate access to even helpful resources. Indeed, some information can be deleted to its own advantage, which prevents the public from knowing the important truth. For instance, the authority may block down some sites which contain political doubt and misconduct of members of parliament for fear of declining trust and rebellious acts of citizens. Its patrol does not always aim to protect their safety and prevents their right to know the significant truth, which will lead to the weakening of democracy and the corrupt government. In conclusion, I somewhat agree with the government supervising the Internet to secure the private information of users from cyber-attacks because of the growing threats such as fraud and stalking. However, the authority should exercise its power not to limit democracy by ensuring the right to access any kind of information.