Eating too much sugar is harmful to health. Some people think it is the government’s responsibility to limit people’s sugar consumption, while others think it is an individual’s responsibility to limit the amount of sugar they eat. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Overusing sugar has negative effects on health. Several individuals consider that authorities should control the amount of sugar people consume whereas others believe that everybody should have sugar usage limitations for themselves. I will discuss both ideas in this essay as long as I agree that it is people's responsibility. On the one hand, it is generally acknowledged that when sugar is being used widely in food production, nobody will be careful about the total amount they use daily. Initially, governments must establish some regulations for food companies to reduce the sugar in their products. Secondly, as sugar can not be completely omitted from routine diets, it should be substituted by artificial sugar which is not harmful to people's health. Additionally, companies which follow these steps must be rewarded with free advertisements in order to encourage the public to purchase healthier products. I have seen a case in point in which a company was being praised for its sugar -free sweets by free adverts on the TV over the year. On the other hand, probably it is impossible to control every individual's sugar usage by governments. There is ample evidence that people will not follow compulsory rules over their private lives. Thus, it is more beneficial to educate them in this regard and let them be careful about their own health. Furthermore, teaching related skills should be started in schools. Children will act as instructors for their families and will transfer whatever they have learned about the pros and cons of sugar. It can be therefore considered that it is more convenient that people care about their own sugar consumption. To conclude, although some states think governments must take some actions to limit sugar consumption among the public, I am of the opinion that every single person should be careful about his health and control the amount of sugar in his diet.