Formal exams are used to assess students at the end of each semester in many countries. Why are these exams used by schools and universities? What other types of assessment are possible?

In numerous countries, universities evaluate students ' knowledge through formal exams at the end of each semester. One of the major reasons to carry out such examinations is to define students ' certain academic levels during each term. Although formal examinations are used  widely, there are other methods to access learning progress such as interviews and essay writing. Assessing the students ' academic level of each term and determining the Improvement of teaching methods through exams that are conducted formally plays a significant role for stakeholders. Most importantly, students should be assessed in order to define how well their academic level is developing. Moreover,schools and universities want to know how efficient they are teaching methods are. For example, my brother has worked as a teacher and also he has been a student. On both occasions, he had a liking for determining how well he and his students were improving. Therefore, formal exams play a significant role in evaluating students ' knowledge at universities due to several reasons mentioned above. Interviews and essay writing are other ways which are beneficial and prevalent to assess students ' particular academic level at universities. Students can be invited for a formal interview and can write an academic essay to check their knowledge and know how they are developing.Apart from formal examinations, writing and interviews play a vital role to evaluate students ' progress. To sum up, students around the globe take formal examinations to measure their level of progress. In spite of the familiarity with such exams, there are also other creative ways to examine students.