It is generally seen that most working people do not do enough physical exercise What are the reasons behind this? How can this problem be solved?

Physical fitness activities are beneficial to human health; however, those physically employed engage less in this. Although, there seem to be valid causes of this phenomenon, some effective measures can be taken to mitigate them, which I will discuss in this essay. Undoubtedly, a larger percentage of employees spend many hours working because of the "work as you earn scheme". It is said that most employers give their workers wages in relation to how many minutes they spend on the job. As a result, some individuals with larger households prefer to perform for a long time per day for increased pay and this creates limited or no room for other leisure or recreational movement. Moreover, it is pointed out that some establishments do not provide healthy working environments or job-motivating programmes which can in turn make the labourers achieve their career prospective goals. Meanwhile, lack of job satisfaction leads to depression, for instance, J.J Holdings LLC in Nigeria saw an increased number of its workforce admitted to the hospital in 2021 for various health challenges like depression and heart problems caused by the inferior environment in the company. Depressed individuals live sedentary lifestyles free from exercise or a healthy diet. Having looked at the possible causes of this challenge, it is necessary to explore the effective means that can curb it. Enforcement of the law by the government against indiscriminate and long working hours of labourers would be one of the major solutions. Employers can be given non-custodial punishment when they go against this standard for whatever reason. Also, industries and companies should be encouraged to establish fitness centres in the workplace for both workers and customers to use. It is believed that this will increase the working-class involvement in exercise as seen among those working in the paper holding company in Abuja, Nigeria. In conclusion, it appears that business owners are the main cause of less involvement of most working people in leisure programmes. However, the larger bulk of the solutions lie in their hands such as creating room for job rotation and fitness life in the work environment.