Nowadays, an increasing number of people with health problems are using alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their normal doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, an increasing number of people with health problems are using alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their normal doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? At present, it can be noted that a considerable number of individuals who suffer from health issues seek to use traditional medicine instead of getting help from their normal doctors. In my opinion, this is certainly a negative development that can lead to adverse effects and a waste of money. One reason why an alternative cure is not a great option for people who are ill is that it can cause negative side effects. In other words, this type of prescription has not been researched adequately, and as a result, there is not enough evidence to show how effective it is. If people take simply take it based on others' recommendations, their illnesses might get worst. Cancer, for example, is a debilitating health condition, and if people consume traditional medicine, such as herbal remedies, their condition will undoubtedly deteriorate because this kind of illness needs immediate medical attention from experienced doctors. Another reason is that some traditional medicine is taken from rare species of plants and animals, and therefore it can be costly. In some countries, namely China and Vietnam, people tend to use old-style approaches to treat their illnesses, and in some cases, some of the ingredients in the medicine are not available easily. To cure asthma, for instance, Chinese and Vietnamese often use bird nests as one of the main components in their medicine, nevertheless, bird nests can only be found in caves which need sufficient expertise to be harvested. To put it simply, not everyone can do such a job because it can be dangerous and there have been cases where people die because of it. Owing to this, their price can be expensive and it will be a waste of money for people to consume it without seeing an immediate result. To conclude, although traditional medicine is popular among many people, its drawbacks are obvious to be considered a positive development. If people wanted to stay healthy, they should medical advice from the experts - doctors.