A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

As technology and society develop, personal goals are becoming more materialistic. Therefore, there can be no doubt that the topic of assessing one's worth is one which deserves some analysis. While it is partly true that modern society generally holds individuals with wealth in higher regard, I think that traditional values still have considerable importance. Firstly, central to this issue is the point that the idea of being successful is measured using monetary values. It is beyond a doubt that possessing a fortune enables a comfortable life and allows one to obtain or experience exotic things that the majority cannot, which could bring joy and pleasure to life. As a result, many people fix their focus on financial gains to attain such future happiness. Since success in terms of wealth becomes a common goal for society, those who have achieved it would obviously be respected. For example, many millionaires are usually invited to have interviews about their lives and how they built their fortunes, and they usually have a moderate number of followers. On the other hand, old-school values still play significant roles in the life of every human being. It should be acknowledged that qualities such as kindness and trust are essential for an amiable character. These values allow people to establish social connections and create cooperative working environments, which are indispensable for success. Furthermore, having a good personality will benefit one's relationships with others, improving quality of life. Thus it can be seen that although social status and material accumulation are desired by many due to the life improvements that follow, traditional qualities still have a remarkable influence on how others will treat us. Hence, it is safe to conclude that these values are still substantial.