In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an aging population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are more benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an aging population outweigh the disadvantages?

It has been argued that the increasing number of men and women are expected to live longer in most parts of the world, and that is putting a strain on government resources, while others think it is highly beneficial for society. Personally, I believe there are both advantages and disadvantages to having elderly members of our society. In this essay, I will elaborate on my ideas and support them with examples. Firstly, the scientific progress med in the field of medicine has made it possible for humans to expand their life span dramatically, up to 100 years. However, approximately 30 years of these we are not expected to work as 67-70 is the common age in which most employees enter retirement. For instance, Japan has the highest life expectancy, and it may challenge the way in which government funds are distributed as pension payments and health care expenses provided for this age group will exceed the amount of money coming from the taxpayers. On the other hand, successful communities contain individuals of all age groups as these play different roles to complete each other. Having parents or grandparents living longer is in many cultures around the world considered a synonym for contentment in addition to serving as nannies for working, young couples in their families. This creates a bridge between generations, in which the elderly person is passing down family traditions, language and values to the children. For example, an American study has recently concluded that youngsters who are partially raised by their grandparents showed better judgemental in certain situations where other children committed a crime. In conclusion, the rising number of ageing people is clearly creating financial challenges for the government. However, in my opinion, they are valued members of their societies as they also contribute to shaping younger generations with their wisdom.