In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities. So the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

People have different views on the influences of migration from the countryside to cities on the individuals themselves and society as a whole. While there are some positive effects, I do believe that the advantages are outweighed by the disadvantages. On the one hand, I accept that there are some benefits to resettling in urban cities. To begin with, such resettlement would offer them more job opportunities and a more stable income, and thus improve their living standards. For example, having such highly-paid work, they can provide better education for their children and improved medical conditions for their parents. In addition, the competitiveness in cities boosts their personal development and enhances their professional abilities. Thirdly, they can get acquainted with more elites in this field and expand their horizons, which would lead them to a higher level and hierarchy. Lastly, stable savings, improved social circles and better living qualities would improve their overall sense of well-being. On the other hand, it would bring more drawbacks than the benefits. Overburdened job and life would reduce their overall sense of well-being. Firstly, the excessive draining of labourers and workforces in the countryside would hinder the pace of economic development. Furthermore, the sudden increase of people migrating from rural areas to megapolis may trigger inflation in the price of commodities and housing. Additionally, the overburden from lives and jobs would affect their happiness. What’s worse, their departure from their homelands turns their kid into leftover children, which has detrimental impacts on their mental health and education. For instance, children who lack companionship from parents would resort to adolescent crimes to attract others’ attention. In conclusion, I can understand the reason why individuals support migration from rural areas to urban places, but I would argue that there are more adverse effects than positive ones.