Some of the methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today’s society. To what extent do you agree with this view?

Advertising is everywhere. In the modern era, it has taken an altogether new form. The ads have gone digital. The content also had a major transformation. However, the way these are presented sometimes is immoral and intolerable to society. Advertising has a great influence on children. There are a lot of ads involving children which represent the usage of products by children, but children may interpret them in the wrong way. For example, an ad showing a boy using tablets to study can influence kids for it to be a toy and use it for playing games, which is not right. This in turn can make children stubborn if parents do not buy it for them. Advertisers should limit the promotion of the products to children. Only kid’s friendly products which are of use by children should be showcased by children. Another aspect of unacceptable advertising is the advertisement of tobacco by famous personalities. People admire and gets influenced by famous personalities like actors, politician etc. When film stars or politicians advertise tobacco or alcohol, true followers can sometimes start following them blindly without considering their harmful effects, which is very wrong. This in turn has a negative effect on their health. Also, youngsters start copying their favourite film stars. And if they start consuming tobacco, it will affect the nation’s future generations in a wrong way. And hence some regulations should be applied to such advertisements. In conclusion, the content of advertisements should be regulated by some critic body so that it should not cause any harm to society. It cannot be totally blocked but can be regulated because advertisement is the heart of marketing products to consumers. Hence, some steps should be taken by the government towards this issue.