The continued rise in the world’s population is the greatest problem faced by humanity at the present time. What are the causes of this continued rise? Do you agree that it is the greatest problem faced by humanity?

The increasing number of people on the planet is the greatest threat to mankind's existence right now. In this essay, I will explore the causes of this upward trend and illustrate why I disagree with this statement. The amount of citizens are mainly going up in developing countries and there are a few reasons for this. Firstly, there is lack of knowledge about contraception use, which leads to regular unprotected intercourse and eventually more offspring. Secondly, poverty play a major role in the desire to have more kids, as youngsters will help the family unit survive; by working. For example, a family consisting of four members will bring in less income, as compared to families with more members which will bring in more money hence reduce the impact of poverty. Although, child labour is an unfortunate development due to increasing individuals, I believe that this is not the biggest problem for humanity. The main concern would be the lack of resources that can be used with more mouths to feed; however, I am convinced that the main issue is allocation of resources rather than availability. For instance, patients are suffering from obesity in first world countries whereas malnutrition is affecting under-developed nations. This illustrates that excess goods can be given to poverty affected areas, but it is being consumed instead. In conclusion, the rising trend in the amount of humans on the planet is not a cause for concern because the environment can sustain us; but, there is improper distribution of useful material. Safe sex practice can reduce the ever rising people in poverty and by implementing a robust aid program, having children will be a want and not a need for survival.