Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motorbike. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, some sectors of society are in favour of getting a driving license with more age than is permitted in the present in order to improve road safety. In my opinion, I strongly disagree as I do not think that this problem is a matter of age. I consider that this is about better education and consciousness. To begin with, age would not finish with the danger on the roads. There are many cases in which teenagers are better prepared to drive than their parents as they have all the fresh information and it is easier for them to remember everything. The statistics show that a high percentage of car accidents could be prevented if the driver would be more aware at the time of the collision. Following this, it has been claimed that the worst distractor on the streets are mobile phones, as drivers use them for numerous reasons, even for GPS, and they do not pay attention properly while driving. In other words, distractors are riskier than age. Furthermore, increasing the minimum legal age for driving would be very discriminatory, as there are not enough reasons to argue this measure. These days, the parents of youngsters 16 years old that are getting a permit to drive, need to be agreed with it, assuming certain legal responsibility for them. In these cases, teenagers have to pass through many instances to prove that they really can drive. Subsequently, if the minimum age changes, society and teenagers would be assuming that they are not prepared to act responsibly, just because they are too young when the majority of car crashes are occasioned by older people. In conclusion, if society and governments really want to improve road safety, they will need much more than just increasing the minimum age to drive. If they do this, would be a silly and discriminatory measure, ignoring all the information supported by statistics. In this sense, I absolutely disagree with the idea of increasing the age to get a driving license as I personally believe that people of all ages really need to be well educated, drive carefully and respect all the rules on the streets.