Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving neighbourhood or teaching a sport to younger children) To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is logical to think that all students should contribute something to improve their neighbourhood. Therefore, the topic of whether community work should be integrated into high-school programmes is one which deserves some analysis. In my opinion, it is inadvisable for children to be forced to take part in these activities. This essay will provide two explanations supporting the statement. Firstly, central to this issue is the point that unpaid social service should always be voluntary. Typically, the motivation of volunteers for partaking in these activities stems from their kindness. These individuals enjoy working for the benefit of their community and other people, even without pay. Many students will not have the level of excitement and engagement similar to volunteers. As a result, their work will likely be of low quality, which not only will lack any positive impact on the area that they serve but will also deter them from doing beneficial acts in the future. Secondly, another important factor that should be considered is the opportunity for self-development that students might miss out on. It is beyond a doubt that no human being is perfect. Therefore, children need time for self-reflection and improvement. Having community work compulsory in school will take away valuable time for the above-mentioned necessities. For example, when I was studying in New Zealand, my high school only encouraged students to help their communities by doing voluntary services. These activities were optional, and the pupils who engaged in them were recognised and rewarded by the school. Thus it can be seen that requiring students to do social work will degrade the quality of outputs and obstruct their personal development. Hence, it is safe to conclude that community service should not be mandatory.