One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectanccy is encreasing. do ypu think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages ?

In recent years, the advancement of medical care has been increasing the longevity of human life. This development can help people be capable to fulfil their wishes and spend more time with their beloved ones. Meanwhile, there is still a concern that this trend will create an ageing population with more heavy burdens put on the shoulder of the younger. From my perspective, the merits totally outweigh the demerits of an extended life. To commence with, long-lived citizens with good health guaranteed by medical improvement can have more opportunities to achieve their lifetime goals. Some achievements require people to commit their whole life, leading to many ones giving up soonly since their life doesn't last that long to wait until they thrive. For example, in Vietnam, numerous businesses which have been being incubated for decades just really take off until their founders are getting on, due to the lack of experience and funds of their younger selves. Moreover, expanded retirement also gives senior citizens more time nearby their near and dear ones to give and receive love. In Vietnam, it is proven that families with more than 3 generations tend to live in cosiness and happiness as well as receive admiration and appreciation from the community. One possible drawback of this trend can be, the increase of older people coming up with a lower rate of birth may cause a shortage of labour in many developed countries where the younger have to work more to carry the pension system for the elderly. However, I strongly believe that the development of medicine, health treatment and a balanced lifestyle not only prolongs life expectancy but also expands the working years, thus people in ripe old age still can function and even make profits, sharing the economic responsibility with the young adults. Take Japan as a prime example, when the retirement age is delayed until nearly 70, so the elderly can dedicate more to their nation. In conclusion, more long-term targets accomplished and more time living with offspring an extended life span brings to us outweigh the wider generation disparity it causes.