The use of social media, e.g. Facebook and Twitter, is replacing face-to-face contact for many people in everyday life. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Using social media websites has become a popular form of communication. However, the downsides of the internet outweigh its benefits. Nowadays, it is more common for people to use social networking sites to contact their families, friends, as well as their workmates instead of meeting them personally. For most youngsters, it is more convenient to keep in touch with friends using mobile phones, rather than meeting them outside. However, most people failed to overlook the drawbacks. One of the disadvantages of having a conversation online is the risk of miscommunication. For instance, typing errors are usually common when it comes to online communication. Misspelt words may contribute to a misunderstanding. Also, by preferring to converse through Facebook or Twitter, words are not delivered clearly leading to wrong information. In addition to that, there are many risks when it comes to using the social media platforms. Hacked accounts are really usual and unavoidable, so it is really risky to send important messages online, instead of relaying them personally. Moreover, many people are becoming addicted to the internet and more time spent scrolling their phones was observed especially with teenagers. It can be observed that when a family have a get-together, children tend to look at their mobile phones the whole day instead of spending quality time with their relatives. To sum it up, despite the convenience of online communication, it is still crucial for people to meet personally and not let the internet substitute their great bonding time with other people. Thus, the benefits of replacing face-to-face contact with social media platforms do not outweigh the disadvantages.