Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Whilst some people are of the view that the leading authorities should allocate money for arts referring to music and theatre. Others believe that governments should address their funding to public services instead of spending it on recreational activities. In my opinion, I totally agree that public services merit government funding more than arts. On the other hand, it is undeniable that the arts provide people with entertainment and yield various psychological rewards such as relief from stress; however, art institutions are more likely to attract investment from the private sector. Therefore, these facilities can generate their own profit without governmental financial assistance. For example, in 2014, according to an article published in The New York Times, about 80% of the concerts that were held in the summertime earned more than 3 million dollars. Thus, business people prefer to invest in the arts more than anything else. On the other hand, it is evidently clear that public sectors such as schools, roads, and hospitals determine the quality of life for the citizens. In other words, if the government ignored these vital facilities, people would live unhealthy and unfulfilled lives. For instance, according to a questionnaire administered by researchers at Chicago University, the vast majority of students need a bigger library as the current one is almost always busy all the time, but they did not ask for a park or playing field. In conclusion, in light of what has been discussed, although recreational activities are of high value for one’s well-being, it is still not deserving of government spending. It is highly recommended that the construction of public facilities should be given the foremost consideration.