Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults.Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While there are benefits in teaching children to cooperate, we should be careful not to raise children who can barely think and act for themselves. And although I favour encouraging children to be competitive, I am fully aware that it is not with its own drawbacks. In this essay, I will explore both perspectives and their respective advantages and disadvantages, and give my opinion. One of the benefits of teaching children to cooperate rather than compete is that they become very considerate, polite, and agreeable adults which are very important traits to have a more malleable society. Agreeable adults are easy to control which can greatly reduce protests or any kind of revolt against authorities. The downside to this approach is that it breeds a society that values politeness over truth. For instance, the ongoing phenomenon called "political correctness", in which individuals would rather say and do what they perceive to be popular and acceptable even though it might not be the truth. Furthermore, it has been proven by many studies that agreeable people do not make good innovators and entrepreneurs for the very reason that to be an innovator, you have to be somewhat disruptive. Conversely, when children are encouraged to be more competitive, they tend to develop into adults who have their own minds rather than blindly following the collective, these individuals tend to challenge the status quo to find better solutions, and this is why they make very good entrepreneurs, innovators and change-makers in the political sphere. The disadvantage of these individuals is that they tend to lack empathy for the less privileged in society. In conclusion, as a society, we should strike a balance between raising children to be cooperative and competitive, favoring one over the other is not as beneficial to society.