Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that videos games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

Nowadays, video games are undoubtedly becoming INCREASINGLY popular across the globe. People have conflicting views on whether they bring more benefits OR drawbacks to the users. In my opinion, the disadvantages exceed the advantages and I would elaborate my view through the essay. To commence with, It is understandable that playing video games can help players increase their problem-solving skills. In OTHER words, most of the games require gamers to achieve targets in a given period of time, while competing with other players. For example, in the game Matrix, users are required to choose the correct path in a complex matrix to reach the throne, which forces players to think and choose carefully as well as remember where they had been so that they can MAKE the right decision. As a result, this will make them practise logical thinking and search for solutions in order to win the games. On the other hand, despite the advantage discussed above, there are more disadvantages to be considered. Firstly, some games can be extremely addictive that make users stare at screens for hours without making MOVING. This will lead to their eyes sights decreasing and their spines suffering from illness. Besides, there are many games with INAPPROPRIATE content that are against common morals. It was reported in Japan in 2020 that more than 40% of the games that target even high school students have violent scenes such as execution or assassinations. As a consequence, many users who do not have stable values may apply what they saw from the games to reality which may result in regrettable actions. In conclusion, gaming can have great benefits to users, but I believe they bring far more negative sides.