Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

I found there is a newly opened public museum sitting next to the Taipei station. The entrance fee was incredibly low, which makes me wonder whether the museum can last without public funds. Though the general public might want it free, I believe the merits of charging visitors a reasonable amount of money override the demerits. The reason for my viewpoint is substantial profits provide essential funding to maintain public facilities and artists' standards of living. To commence with, entrance fees assist in the provision of quality and variation of art or historical object collections. The value of the exhibition usually lies in the ability to broaden visitors' horizons so the variety of exhibited objects determines the quality of a museum. Similarly, expanding different genres of collections is also significant to attract repeat customers. In order to do this, financial supports from admission fee are crucial for museums or galleries. For example, the Taipei Tiny Doll Houses Exhibition renew its models periodically so that the customers who have seen the display will be willing to come back again. Furthermore, entrance charges improve the life of the artists. In this highly-developed world, most artists' work can be appreciated directly on the Internet because of the advancement of technology. Seldom do people in Taiwan buy physical paintings for decoration. Therefore, if the entrance fee becomes free, the art workers can find it hard to make a living. For instance, the Taiwanese comic artist, Kao Yu, once complained about the digital version of her comic books on pirate comic websites making her effort in vain. If there are no authorization fees from exhibitions, she might be forced to give up her career entirely. Although some local residents claim that the only reason they choose museums rather than cinemas is because of their zero or low entrance fee, I believe keeping museums free is not the only solution to the lack of popularity. Creating an aesthetic environment, buying authentic collections, or making commercial campaigns to promote displays can be effective ways of improving the number of visitors in attendance. All these amendments require money to achieve. Thus, if museums lack a profitable source from admission fees, they can be difficult to maintain. In conclusion, running museums requires labour and financial assistance. Consequently, I opine charging admission fees is a proper and substantial way to do so.