person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honor, kindness, and trust, no longer seem important.

person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honor, kindness, and trust, no longer seem important. It is believed that roles covered in society and material possessions are the only criteria used to measure a person’s worth. Inevitably, honour, kindness and trust are old-fashioned values not considered anymore. I could not agree more with this opinion and I will explain the reasons behind it in this essay. Firstly, it is noticeable how social status drives relationships. Dating apps for instance provide the possibility of selecting persons based on their job instead of shared interests and moral values, which should be the basics in relationships. Moreover, there are people spending money on followers because they think that it would increase their social visibility and consequently higher worth. Secondly, material possessions seem to be so important that people are able to spend more money than they possess just for showing off and be socially accepted. It is sufficient to think about the exponential increase in renting luxury goods, such as bags or cars, with the only purpose of gaining social credibility. Consequently, humans tend to be more focused on appearance rather than moral values. Therefore, old-fashioned principles like being kind, men and women of word and trustable are not considered anymore because hidden by luxury, careers and fake followers. In conclusion, I strongly agree with the fact that human beings are losing the capability of judging a person’s worth based on moral integrity rather than external appearance. Goods seem to be the only variable in the equation and I think this way of thinking limits the possibility of building real and strong relationships.