Some parents buy their children whatever they ask for, and allow their children to do whatever they want. Is this a good way to raise children? What consequences could this style of parenting have for children as they get older?

It is true that there are many parents who naturally succumb to their children ’s demand as soon as they ask for them. This essay will first discuss whether it is an effective method to bring up children and it will then give the possible consequences when those children are getting older. To begin with, there are an array of reasons why many people think it is not a good way to educate the children. Firstly, over-indulgence probably makes children feel to be self-centered so they would pester their parents for stuff they want or do whatever they like as a regular basis. If they did not achieve their goal, they would get really angry with their mums and dads, even they would not obey their parents later. Secondly, children might be getting into a bad habit of jealousy. Indeed, they would be under peer pressure at school to have the best of everything and not have a sense of satisfaction if their classmates have something better than they do. For aforementioned reasons, I believe that the instant gratification could have adverse consequences in the future as children grow up. Many adults may find it difficult to search for good friends or colleagues just because of their characteristics, and some of them cannot keep their long-lasting friendships. A second problem they would possibly face is that many people do not grasp the real value of money or learn how to manage it effectively in their childhood. Therefore, they could be in bad financial condition in their future. In conclusion, it seems to me that raising the children in this way is more negative than positive in the present as well as in the future when these children grow up.