Some people believe that use of mobile phones in public is as annoying as smoking and should be banned? Do you agree or disagree?

Smartphones are no recent discovery, they have been around for a while now and the more time passes more folks start to adopt them. With so many people that have phones and utilize them on an almost daily basis, it is pretty average to see a ton of people using them in public, yet we can see that there are members of society that see the use of a mobile phone in public as a troublesome habit just as smoking and they claim it should be banned. I disagree with this statement and in the following paragraph, I will explain my reasons. We like it or not we live in a world that is dominated by technology and we humans need to keep up or else be left behind, the usage of smartphones has indeed spiked and many people don't employ them for academic or important purposes nevertheless, some do and even though, if you happen to be at social meetings with people that care about you and you are glued to your phone all the time without bonding with them, that could be disrespectful but it is still not worth it to be legally penalized. We do not know what is crossing a person's mind when they are doing x thing and that same principle applies to the case of smartphones too, the ones that find it annoying may think that they are just scrolling through Instagram but they could be studying on the train because they have an important test, they could be texting to their families because something major happened, they can be reading the news or helping someone to get through tough times but even if they are doing unimportant things like playing a video game it's their time and they have the right to handle it as they want. To conclude I disagree with the declaration that claims that using your smartphone in public should be banned.