Some people say it is more important to plant trees in the open spaces in towns and cities than to build more houses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that trees are important to sustain life. Even though a portion of society believes that growing trees in vacant areas in towns and cities is more important than building homes, I completely disagree with the statement and the following essay discusses my viewpoint. Trees are very important for life to flourish since they generate oxygen which animals can not live without. A tree is not only a tree but a complete ecosystem that includes birds and other small animals like ants. Although it is relaxing to stay under the cool shade of a tree on a hot day, one would be at risk of experiencing bird drops too. A better way to encourage greenery within an urban area would be to plant vegetation on buildings. So that the valuable real estate can be utilised for housing projects while having the positive effects of nature. Having a roof over the head is a basic necessity for all humans and nearly in all cities, there is some homeless population despite governments effort to provide affordable housing for them. A home is a place where a person gets energized and plans for the future, it is the foundation of success, therefore the importance of a home is paramount. If the dwellings are in a rural area the workforce has to travel far for their occupation, which results in high costs, dissatisfaction and environmental pollution due to automobiles. To avoid such negative effects, homes should be built in the city closer to employment opportunities. Further vegetation can grow on buildings, but buildings cannot be constructed on trees, therefore constructing homes in vacant areas has precedence over trees. In conclusion, trees play a critical part in the ecosystem, a city has limited land resources which should be utilised for homes and other buildings while allowing plants to grow on the buildings. Even if, a number of people say it is more important to have trees in the free spaces in towns and cities than to construct more homes, I totally disagree with the statement and my belief is that the government should use all available land in a town or a city to provide accommodation needs of the residents.