Some people believe that a good way to reduce crime is to have longer sentences, while others think that there are alternatives to this problem. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

many people argued the best approach to decline crime activity rates was to extend the sentences, while others believed that are better solutions to mitigate this issue. In my opinion, the duration of punishment should consider what type of crime and the effectiveness,not the duration. I will examine this notion in the following essay. To begin with, there are disadvantages to this notion from a different perspective, I disagree if the law system only focuses on duration. Hence, the court system should classify and categorise the crime base on weightiness. To what extent, do some states impose more time in prison to punish lawbreakers, however it is not effective so much because they repeated it again in their communities to conduct criminal activities. Moreover, some prisoners tend to perform crimes again inside the prison because they are frustrated and though there is no way out. On the other hand, there are essential programs as the best solution to mitigate these challenges. Firstly, rather make it longer, we how consider developing and fostering them with some specific skills such as welding so they will be able to be welders right after completing the punishment. Therefore, they are likely to be accepted in society and it was more effective in again the crime reoccur again. To illustrate, In Indonesia criminals are like pupils so they learn many skill skills and competencies, edit photoshop for instance, so they can master it and be able to gain jobs when they finished the punishment. In conclusion, I am convinced by extending the sentences could not address the case due to it is not effective and potential to back again to commit a crime. Hence, I firmly believe with an established system by providing training or new skills will assist them in the future and prevent them to conduct criminal activities in the future.