In many countries today people are living in poverty. Why is this the case. And what can be done to solve the problem?

Poverty continues to exist in many countries to date. I believe the main reasons for this case are a lack of infrastructure, unequal distribution of earnings, social conflicts and others. To begin with, income inequality is the root cause of debt. With the unequal distribution of salary, the purchasing power lies in those people who can earn a higher income. In other words, the economy starts producing goods and services demanded by the higher-income groups. Secondly, the absence of essential amenities such as roadways, railways, airports, flyovers and ports has a detrimental effect on society. For instance, poor agricultural and irrigation provisions often lead to famine and starvation, thereby decreasing the agricultural and economic productivity of the land. Similarly, social conflicts play a primary role in the underdevelopment of a country. To give a clear example, the ongoing war in many Middle Eastern countries has led to the mass destruction of lives and property, whilst the citizens suffer from starvation and malnutrition. The most effective way to eradicate this problem would be to provide more employment opportunities as it would not only help in erasing unemployment but also contribute to a higher GDP. Moreover, by providing free education to poor people, they will be able to take well-informed decisions. Thirdly, governments should introduce debt alleviation programmes in backward regions. It can provide financial aid and basic provisions to those families that are living below the poverty line or in extreme deficit. Lastly, the government should also increase their expenditure for the construction of railways, airports and roads, thereby, international and domestic trade and leading to the overall development of the economy. In conclusion, poverty is a universal issue and it would be very difficult to eradicate it once and all. However, the government can take preemptive measures by providing free educational facilities, and basic amenities to poor people and making the best use of available resources.