Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is more environmentally and economically sound. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

Nowadays, some people have a preference for foods exported from other countries. Others share the belief that supporting local food can bring environmental benefits and lower the expenses. This essay will elaborate the reason why the merits outweigh the drawbacks. To begin with, there are many positive aspects of consuming local food. Firstly, it shortens the distance, leading to decrease fuel and carbon emissions. Therefore, the greenhouse effect will take place less and reduce air pollution. Secondly, when people purchase more local food which is economically beneficial to the local market and shop owners and agricultural workers who work harder to make ends meet. This helps the shipping cost lower, hence the prices are cheaper than some imported food. In addition, residents do not have to pay high tax for consuming food when they eat locally. As a result, it will generate income for local businesses. For example, people eat domestic beef instead of imported ones which helps them save time without spending so much time on waiting as well as money. On the other hand, food sources are not diverse, people have to eat food seasonally, leading to they will have limited experiences. Moreover, some regions are not agriculturally developed, thus, they need to rely on imported food because local food is not enough. If dwellers continue eating local meals, they may not be provided enough nutrients. For example, in some countries that have poor conditions in agriculture such as staple, they have to import from foreign areas. This would increase the shipping cost and the diversity in food sources might depend on other countries. In conclusion, in my opinion, I consider that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. When people eat high quality food, they will enhance physical health and have enough energy to continue working.