A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honor, kindness and trust no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

In our modern era, people ’s values have significantly changed. While some people still follow traditional values, I strongly believe people ’s judgments are based on each other’s money and wealth for two reasons. First of all, many of our values are determined by the society that we are living in. These days in almost all countries around the world, those who have high social status or big accounts in the banks usually receive more respect and service from others. In fact, this manner is getting done very legally. For example, there is a huge difference between passengers of a plane who have business class tickets or economic ones. The first one would enjoy a very comfortable seat all over his or her long trip, while being offered many expensive drinks and meals. In contrast, those in economy parts should tolerate low back pain and neck pain due to squeezed spaces. Therefore, unconsciously, people learn that person’s worth is mostly dependent on wealth, and they could internalize this value and judge others by that. Another reason is psychological effects of social media. Everybody almost has an Instagram or a Facebook account and spends lots of time surfing the Internet. Most people, especially young ones, believe what they see and hear on these platforms. In this world, having more followers brings credit to individuals, and if they post something, thousands will like the post that might not have any valuable meaning. For example, almost any post from Kim Kardashian gets the attention of millions of her followers, which implies the influence of this person in the virtual world. However, this phenomenon could insidiously affect the young generations in the real world and change their basic criteria for judging people, giving more value to the rich and famous ones. The algorithm that could gradually change the core values of a society. In conclusion, not only does society but also social media plays essential roles in changing people ’s values. I strongly believe a person’s worth in our world is determined by material possession and high social status.