Nowadays more and more people buy and use their own cars. Do you think the adventages of this trend for individuals overweigh its disadventages for the environment?

These days, many people have their own cars. However, although having a car brings convenience, I strongly believe that its drawbacks outweigh its benefits. On the one hand, it could be argued that having a car has several benefits. those in favour of this idea argue that It brings more convenience. People can go out whenever they want even in the middle of the night, and they do not need to wait a long time for a taxi. For example, when they have a flight to catch, they can choose what time they want to go to the airport. As a, result they do not need to book a cab in advance in order to not miss the flight. They also claim that it is more economical since the transportation cost is expensive. However, I side with those who believe that personal cars have more drawbacks.It is a fact that one of the most sources of air pollution is cars. By increasing car numbers, more dioxide carbon would be released into atmosphere which can negatively affect the environmental condition. Moreover, it leads to lots of health issues for cities' residents such as respiratory diseases and premature heart problems. For example, in the capital city of Iran, Tehran, every year the proportion of children and seniors who get admitted to the hospital due to asthma and bronchitis are getting more and more just because of traffic jam. In conclusion, although car ownership makes people more independent, it has negative impacts on the individuals' health and environment. Therefore, in balance, I believe the disadvantages of having a car outweighs its benefits.