All large companies should provide sports and social facilities to the local community. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The local community plays a crucial role in everyone’s life. In the contemporary era, whether giant companies should offer support such as sports and social facilities to society is a topic of debate. There are many reasons why some hold the view that this action should not be encouraged, while others believe that this would benefit the locals. This essay will discuss my opinion on the abovementioned matter before presenting my agreement on the latter. On the one hand, many individuals believe that the government should provide sports and social amenities. It is a costly exercise to be able to maintain these facilities, especially sports ones. In particular, a basketball field requires ongoing maintenance, to make it safe for everyone to use. Businesses might build a facility at the beginning and be able to keep it going for a certain period, however, if they go bankrupt and there is no one to cover the expenses, all previous efforts will go to waste. On the other hand, I strongly believe that large companies should provide these facilities to locals. First of all, locals are customers, without them, businesses will not be able to run. This is a way to give back to the community and raise their value. Secondly, these places are the best way for companies to communicate with locals, by signages and events. Lastly, there is a high chance that these citizens can be their future employees, hence, this is a way to invest in potential candidates. In summary, great organisations should supply necessary amenities to locals, to support community in a greater way.