Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

In modern society, all individuals must contribute plenty of time to their jobs and work, leaving them only a minimal amount of time for other activities like entertainment. Some people claim that there are benefits of having an excessive workload rather than drawbacks. In this essay, several compelling reasons for the downsides exceeding the advantages will be discussed in detail below. First of all, a rise in living standards from higher income levels can be considered a significant benefit. Due to national laws and legislation, employees working additional hours must be paid a higher salary and more commission to compensate for their extra contribution, meaning that their total income will be increased accordingly. This is to say, having more financial resources enables people to purchase superior products and enjoy more luxury services, and as a result, their standards of living will be improved with increasing working hours. When it comes to limited time for leisure activities, not only do people begin suffering from severe mental illness such as depression, but there is even evidence that physical health will be impaired dramatically over time. The overwhelming stress from work would definitely culminate in emotional damage and dissatisfaction if workers did not have sufficient time to enjoy themselves in leisure activities. Furthermore, working overtime without any forms of movement, such as jogging and exercise, is harmful to people’s body conditions and therefore they will be more likely to be adversely affected by infectious diseases. All in all, although the overall living standards are improved by working more hours, people’s mental and physical health will potentially become worse and weaker. After looking at these views, it is of paramount importance to strike a balance between appropriate working hours and having leisure activities in daily life.